A place for expats living in Andorra and everyone interested in moving to Andorra

The stunning annual FIM Awards ceremony brought the curtain down on a spectacular weekend in Andorra

The stunning annual FIM Awards ceremony tonight brought the curtain down on a spectacular weekend in Andorra, where more than 100 national motorcycling federations have been gathered all weekend to celebrate their communal values of courage, excellence and commitment.

At tonight’s glamorous crowning ceremony were some of the biggest names in two-wheeled sport, from record-breaking five-time FIM MotoGP World Champion Marc Márquez to 14-year-old  FIM 85cc Junior Motocross World Champion Caden Braswell – the youngest gold medal recipient of 2018 – and, of course, the history-making Ana Carrasco, the first ever female to secure a solo FIM Circuit Racing world title.

Streamed live on www.fim-awards.com and with attendance of special guests and international media representatives, this truly global event engaged the large community of motorcycling fans worldwide, who relayed their experience on social platforms using the #FIMAwards hashtag.

As well as crowning over fifty FIM World Champions from the 2018 motorcycling season, five equally important FIM Awards were also bestowed on individuals and organisations for their contributions to motorcycling Beyond Sport.

The FIM Women in Motorcycling Award was collected by Macrocampus, an event organised by the RFME Women’s Commission of Motorcycling at the famous Motorland Circuit, in Aragón. The winner of Fair Play Trophy was Sebastien VanBaelen, a Belgian Enduro rider who came to the aid of a stricken competitor in l’Enduropale du Touquet, in France, whilst the FIM Environment Award went to Sky Ocean Rescue in Italy.

Meanwhile, Michael Woodford MBE picked up the FIM Road Safety and Public Policy Award for his road safety campaigning and important work regarding ‘Automatic Headlight On’ technology, whilst the first ever winners of the FIM Award for the Future were Dorna Sports for their investment in and commitment to various rookies’ series, in collaboration with the FIM National Federations and Continental Unions.

The stellar list of names treading the red carpet included a prestigious line-up of prizegivers, who handed over the honours to the World Champions and awards recipients. FIM Legend and fifteen-time FIM Circuit Racing World Champion Giacomo Agostini (Italy) was joined by FIM Legend and former Grand Prix motorcycle road racer, Pentti Korhonen (Finland) and legendary former alpine skier turned racing driver and keen motorcyclist Luc Alphand (France).

Deja un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *